Who said what on Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas

Who said what on Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas

On Jan. 9, 1915, Mahatma Gandhi returned to India from South Africa. Gandhi's return to India was a momentous event that signaled the beginning of the Indian independence movement.

In modern-day India, Jan. 9 is dedicated to the millions of nonresident Indians and is celebrated as the 'Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas.' It is the day India celebrates and honors the immense contributions that NRIs have made to the country!

In the past, India used to have quite colorful celebrations on this occasion. But It's a little tricky these days with all the pandemic stuff going on. So we were curious, and did some digging on how India celebrated the Pravasi Bharatiya Diwas this year. Check it out!

This year, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to express his appreciation for all that NRIs have done and continue to do. "Our diaspora has distinguished itself all over the world and has excelled in different spheres. At the same time, they have remained connected to their roots. We are proud of their accomplishments." he said in his tweet.

External Affairs Minister Subramaniam Jaishankar congratulated the Indian diaspora for their global achievements with a tweet saying, "Your achievements are a source of pride for us."

Many big names in politics tweeted on the day to appreciate the Indians living abroad for their commitment and devotion to their motherland.

The Minister of State for External Affairs, V. Muraleedharan, keynoted the Youth Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Conference organized by his Ministry to commemorate the occasion. "Today, the diaspora is highly motivated. They volunteer to contribute to building New India," he said in his tweet.

Niti Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant spoke of the role of the diaspora youth at the conference and tweeted highlighting the Indian entrepreneurs transforming a wide range of areas like mobility in Chile, Cricket training in the West Indies, and AppLab in Canada.

Wishing the global community, the Union Minister of Law and Justice, Kiran Rijuju, extended his greeting to the nonresident Indians and thanked them for their strong emotional bond with their motherland and their achievements that have made India consistently proud.

Chairperson of National Council of Women, Rekha Sharma, also tweeted to greet the overseas Indian community.

Other leaders who treated for the Indian diaspora include Ravi Shankar Prasad, Devendra Fadnavis, Rajiv Shukla, Bharat Bhushan Ashu, and L Murugan.